Review: Dead Heat by Patricia Briggs

From Goodreads:

For once, mated werewolves Charles and Anna are not traveling because of Charles’s role as his father’s enforcer. This time, their trip to Arizona is purely personal, as Charles plans to buy Anna a horse for her birthday. Or at least it starts out that way…

Charles and Anna soon discover that a dangerous Fae being is on the loose, replacing human children with simulacrums. The Fae’s cold war with humanity is about to heat up—and Charles and Anna are in the cross fire.


What the fresh hell is this?

Charles and Anna you say? No way, those books are awesome! This book was decidedly not.

I mean, do you really expect me to believe that the badass author who wrote the glory of Mercy Thompson wrote this nonsensical piece of boredom?

To my utter and complete fucking surprise: YES.

*What just the crap just happened?*

Anna and Charles travel to Arizona thinking it’ll be a relaxing trip visiting old friends and looking at pretty horses. But, lucky for them they get to solve a nifty little mystery. A dangerous faerie is stealing children. Charles and Anna set out to solve this mystery, going all Nancy Drew on our asses. Get out your notebooks and flashlights, ladies and gents ’cause we’ve got a mystery to solve.

There are some spoilers on previous books in the series:

 It all comes down to this: Did I enjoy it? Sure, there’s always going to be things I like or dislike in every book I read, but in the end it always comes down to whether I enjoyed it. I truly did enjoy things about this book, but overall I am saddened to say that I did not enjoy the book.

HORSIES!

They are majestic creatures.

Obviously.

Every once and a while, you ship a couple. C&A were one of my most shippable UF couples, next to Curran and Kate (We can’t be friends if you haven’t read them, fyi). I truly do love how Briggs built their relationship. I wouldn’t say that I love that Charles saved Anna from her previous pack, but I can deal with it. Plus, the use of rape (in the first book, just to be clear) AGAIN was just not to my favor. But, still I can get past that because at this point in Urban Fantasy it’s an anomaly if rape isn’t used. Although, it is suspicious how Briggs uses rape in both series. It must be a genre staple. Even so, I love how Charles gives Anna her space and doesn’t hover like most love interests. He just backs way up if she needs it. He’s a quiet guy. I just love the quiet mysterious guys. Again, with the mystery aspect. He’s just so chill. But, now I’m going to have to say that they have gone the way of the wind. The ‘Dead Heat’ title takes an entire new meaning, emphasis on the “dead.”

I never really realized this before, but Anna is not an interesting person. The only thing that makes her interesting is that she’s an omega and she has a traumatic past. Anna as a person? Not so much.

In this book, Charles completely dominated the book. This is not a good thing. I don’t care how much you have the hots for him, it is not cool with me when the woman takes a backseat in the story. Too often the guy seems to have a much larger presence than the girl. I’m not okay with this. It seemed like Anna had a presence in the beginning, then it became all about Charles, and then towards the end she showed up to save the day. What is this plate of ripe shit? Do not confuse me like this. I will not be tricked into thinking it’s about both Charles and Anna, when Charles has a more dominating presence (not a wolf reference, please) than Anna. Exit the ship, if you don’t mind me saying.

Briggs has a way with unweaving a mystery. She’s just so excellent at planting clues and teasing you the entire way through. The writing is quite nice and I enjoyed it. Dead Heat did not interest me as much as it should have. It was quite boring, as I’ve already stated. Patricia Briggs does tend to weave a book slowly and surely. But, there should always be something to interest me no matter how long it takes to unweave the story.

The sad thing about the horses being such a big part of the book is that a lot of the scenes had no purpose other than spew out horse facts. As much as I love horses, having grown up with them, I can’t see an actual purpose to many of the scenes. The horses are part of why Anna and Charles went to Arizona, so that’s why the horses are so important in the background of the story. But, I felt like the author gave us a little too much. It started to become a little obsessive on the horse info and descriptions.

The plot took so incredibly long to unravel that I cannot forgive the huge chunk of book it took to become known. It dragged on too much for my taste. I love it when stories take a while to unfold. Sometimes, I just love to sink into those stories. But, when the plot takes an entire section of the book to start? That’s when I start to consider watching Keeping Up with the Kardashians instead. Desperate times, my friends. I had them.

I don’t know why I do this to myself.

I will remember you Charles and Anna. We had some good times. I can honestly say that it could be me. That’s possible. But, let’s go with the possibility that it’s probably you. I’m a confident woman. I don’t need hesitate to say what I think. This is what I think.

I received an Advanced Readers Copy provided by Penguin Group Berkley, NAL through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book. 

4 thoughts on “Review: Dead Heat by Patricia Briggs

  1. Faye M. says:

    FIRST OF ALL, OH MY BLOODY GOODNESS, THAT GIF OF THAT CUTE LITTLE BULLDOG MADE ME SMILE FROM EAR TO EAR. That was absolutely adorable!!!

    Second of all, this series is one of the those UF I’m planning to read very soon as soon as my schedule lets up. It’s sad to see that it has become a bit boring, but that’s bound to happen in a middle book in a series as long as this one (I mean, HP 6 was a LITTLE dull! And so was Kate Daniels 5… lol). Really makes me worried that rape is used here again as a plot device, although there are times that can work as long as the author writes it right. And a slow start to the plot is quite worrisome as well! Hoping this won’t be the case in the next installment.

    Faye at The Social Potato

    • Brigid says:

      ISN’T JUST THE MOST ADORABLE BULL DOG IN THE WORLD?! I know you have a french bulldog, you must have just loved that gif then.

      Oh yeah, the first three book are really good (except for a particular thing in bk 3). Don’t read the first one without having read the novella. You’ll just be confused. It is sad this one didn’t work for me. I remember Kate 6 being more boring than 5. It’s been such a long time since I’ve read 5 that I don’t remember. The rape is more of a backstory in previous books, but stillllllll…..

    • Brigid says:

      I DO NOT LIKE IT. I can fully admit when the guy is sexy as hell, but that doesn’t mean I am going to forgive something that is such a huge problem in our society already. I MEAN HOW OFTEN ARE WOMEN BRUSHED OFF TO TAKE THE BACK SEAT IRL? ALL. THE. TIME.

Leave a Reply

