Waiting On Wednesday: Anne & Henry by Dawn Ius

Waiting on Wednesday: hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, this weekly meme highlights upcoming releases we’re looking forward to reading.

From the Author’s Website:

Anne
Wild, brazen, mischievous, bewitching

Henry
Driven, haunted, charming, magnetic

Apart, they are bound to destroy themselves. Together, they are bound to destroy each other.

Henry Tudor’s life has been mapped out since the day he was born: student president, valedictorian, Harvard Law School, and a stunning political career just like his father’s. But ever since the death of Henry’s brother—perfect, high-achieving Arthur—his family has been twice as demanding. And now Henry’s trapped: forbidden from pursuing a life as an artist or dating any girl who’s not Tudor approved.

Then Anne Boleyn crashes into his life.

Anne is wild, brash and outspoken. She is everything Henry is not allowed to be—or to want. But soon Anne is all he can think about. His mother, his friends, and even his girlfriend warn him away, yet his desire for Anne consumes him. Henry is willing to do anything to be with her. But once he has her, their romance could destroy them both.

Inspired by the true story of Anne Boleyn and King Henry VIII, Anne & Henry reimagines the intensity, love, and betrayal between one of the most infamous couples of all time.


AHEM.

                               Source

This is going to be a weird mashup, isn’t it?

I don’t even know why this is so appealing to me. I’m a fan of books that feature Tudor history and anything remotely related to people wearing big dresses, kings chopping their wives heads off, and political intrigues of the past. I didn’t read Young Adult as a teen. I read history and epic fantasy, and most of those history books were nonfiction. So…a contemporary YA featuring one of the most controversial couples in history? It intrigues me. I don’t understand how it’s going to work, but it’s got my attention.

12 thoughts on “Waiting On Wednesday: Anne & Henry by Dawn Ius

  1. Patty @ Patty's Book Corner says:

    Hmmmm this sounds weirdly appealing to me too haha. I can’t say I’m much of a history buff. At all. But I do seem to be quite a fan of things that take history and mash it into something they want haha. I’m confused as to why she’s starting to eat his face off though… Seems like a weird place to bite someone haha.
    Here’s my WOW if you want to check it out 🙂

    • Brigid says:

      *shrugs* Covers.

      I’m worried that because I know so much about the Tudor history that I won’t like it. It’s a really cool idea and I hope it works out, but I’m skeptical as to how it’ll actually work in the context of the story.

  2. Maya says:

    I’ve heard of this extraordinarily intriguing and quirky book and I’m so excited to find out how on earth Anne Boleyn and King Henry’s infamous romance can be turned into a modern contemporary too:’)
    Am I the only one how laughed out loud when I saw the tagline “a love worth losing your head over”;) Poor poor Anne Boleyn must be rolling in her grave:P
    Tudour history is definitely incredibly interesting! I saw a play at The Globe last summer about Anne Boleyn and Henry and loved it so hopefully this ambitious but fun book turns out good:)
    I’m not sure how its going to work either but fingers crossed!
    Here’s mine if you want to check it out:) : http://anotheronceuponatime.blogspot.sg/2015/02/waiting-on-wednesday-passenger-by.html

    P.S. The 100 just keeps getting better (*cough cough* Bellarke forever;))

    • Brigid says:

      It looks so good, doesn’t it? I am too, but I’m worried because although it’s a modern retelling that doesn’t mean the author can change the reality of the history of Anne and Henry. Sometimes it causes a lot of inconsistencies and inaccuracies and I don’t appreciate that in a book. I like it to stay true to history because you should always respect those people who really did live that life.

Leave a Reply

