Waiting On Wednesday: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Waiting on Wednesday: hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine

Feyre’s survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill – the forest where she lives is a cold, bleak place in the long winter months. So when she spots a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. But to do so, she must kill the predator and killing something so precious comes at a price …

Dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jewelled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre’s presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why, her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion and the faerie lands become an even more dangerous place. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever.

A Court of Thorns and Roses is the start of a sensational romantic fantasy trilogy by the bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series.


I’m really interested in reading this book for several reasons.

1. It has faeries and anyone who knows me knows that I love books with faeries; particularly evil ones. I’m picky.

2. The blurb has that feel to it. You know the one that says “there will be folklore and possible symptoms of exploding heads.”

3. Masks. I am a sucker for masks. All twitter is nowadays is people in masks. This is what the book blogging community has come to and I’m liking it.

4. The blurb reminds me of an old Celtic ballad called Tam Lin.

5. The Main Character is a hunter. Killing of animals is involved.

I’m so much more interested in this novel, than Throne of Glass. Assassins are all good and fine, but it gets old. It’s an old trope in fantasy and doesn’t interest me as much. I’ve been there, done that. I think this series will be different. I believe Maas will show her skills here. I think she’ll prove her worth in this book. She’s grown as an author and I want to see what she can do now.

9 thoughts on “Waiting On Wednesday: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Jessica @ Rabid Reads says:

    Me TOO (except for the “meh” on the ToG front, b/c I friggin’ love ToG 😉 ) but I stupidly read the preview chapters for ACOTAR, and now I’m in like physical pain over this book. I NEED it.

    • Brigid says:

      THIS IS WHY I NEVER EVER READ PREVIEWS. It’s also the reason I can’t read serials. I need the freedom to read the entire book or I will go crazy. I’ve got high hopes for this one. I think Maas will bring her game with this one. I hope you enjoy when you get your hands on it.

  2. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum says:

    I’m probably not waiting on this as anxiously as some others, but I definitely want to check it out. I’ve been enjoying the ToG series but you’re right, the description on this one looks so much more interesting to me too!

    • Brigid says:

      I’m actually planning on re-reading them. I haven’t read the prequel, which you should start with because (apparently) you understand the MC a lot more.

Leave a Reply

