Top Ten Tuesday: Science Fiction Books I Can’t Believe I haven’t Read

Top Ten Tuesday: hosted by The Broke and The Bookish:

I don’t have the best track record with science fiction, particularly dystopians. I actually really love the genre. But, I started in the genre in a bad way. I started reading Science Fiction when I was in high school, but I decided I wanted to start out with the really old classics. Never ever do this. It’s a horrible horrible idea. The problem with the really old science fiction novels is that they are really misogynistic, racist, and sexist in addition to being overly descriptive all the time. It was hell for me. I get why they are classics. It’s just that I don’t like them. Despite this terrible experience, I love science fiction. I love Firefly, Battlestar Galactica, and Gattaca.

These are the top ten science fiction/Dystopian novels I can’t believe I haven’t read.

1. These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

I love the idea of this book. This is a book I’ve been wanting to read for a long time, but for whatever reason I’ve just never gotten around to it. I am ashamed to say that I haven’t read it yet. It’s one of those books that I just know is going to be really good and I’m waiting for just the right time to enjoy it.

2. Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff

I HAVE NO REASON. I don’t know what’s wrong with me. I have the book and yet it sits there. You ever get freaked out by all the love for a book? Okay, well if you don’t, I do. I get really anxious and then I just forget about the book. But, then I still want to read it. I’m a sick person. This is more of a steampunk dystopian, but technically it’s still science fiction when you think about it. That counts, or at least to me it does. I had so much fun watching people go ballistic on twitter when the ARCs of Endsinger came out. I want to join in that fun. I know this series is painful (according to everyone), but I want to feel that pain ( I am still scared).

3. For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund

Persuasion by Jane Austen. Say no more. Choppy world building or not, I am going to read this.


4. Red Rising by Pierce Brown

I am almost the last person on Earth that hasn’t read this. People keep asking me “Why haven’t you read Red Rising?.” It’s gotten increasingly more difficult over the years. Β I’ve been frightened of reading Red Rising because it’s dystopian. Then to make things worse, I read some reviews that said the Main Character was a mary sue and that the language was annoying. That scared me. But, you know what? It’s about time I hiked up my pants and just go for it.

5. Fortune’s Pawn by Rachel Bach

Ladies in Space. Space with Ladies. This is one of those books I need to read. No exceptions. Again I really don’t need to explain this do I? I’ve always been waiting for more female science fiction writers (space operas!) to come front in center. They should have a lot of more attention than they do. This author is one that has been raved about in recent years.

6. Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie

Ann Leckie is another female science fiction writer that has been getting a lot of attention, as well. She’s won a lot of award’s for this book. The book is supposed to be very female centric. I am game.


Β 

7. The Mad Scientist’s Daughter by Cassandra Rose Clarke

ROBOTS. This one has a robot created by a scientist. He looks exactly like a human, except he can’t feel like a human (I’ve been told, don’t hold me to this). It looks creepy, eerie, and dark. I love the books that just itch on your skin by how creepy and wonderful they are.

8. Angelfall by Susan Ee

This is a post apocalyptic where angels exist? I don’t really understand this, but I want find out why angels would exist in a dystopian world. Whenever I think of science fiction and angels, I always think it’s paranormal. So many people love this book. I don’t have a real love of dystopian young adult, but I really want to try this one out.

9. Earth Girl by Janet Edwards

The Main Character is the last handicapped left on Earth. I love it when authors think about diversity other than race and sexuality. This is great. I can’t believe I haven’t read this and it’s got so many reviews that bow to its brilliance!

10. Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

I’ve had this book for years and I’ve never picked it up. WHY HAVEN’T YOU READ IT?Because, well…it’s because I’ve seen some reviews that discussed the flaws in the world. Choppy world building bothers me. I’m not one to easily forgive flaws, so I’m worried all I would do is whine about it. Once in a while, I will love a book despite it’s terrible world building. The premise of this book is so interesting though. It’s one of those books that has been moving up my to-be-read list for a while now. I’m on the verge of reading it.

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Science Fiction Books I Can’t Believe I haven’t Read

  1. Lety @ Gone With The Words says:

    What a great list!! I have a few of these on my TBR mountain pile! I also tend to get freaked out by over-hyped books and just stay away for a while… I usually end up reading them though and then I’m like … WTH why didn’t I read this sooner LOL I definitely need to get to some of these on your list!! Good luck! πŸ˜€

    • Brigid says:

      I just get so worked up over it! I’m not even sure why. I think it’s just that I scare myself into thinking that the crack won’t work on me. I tried Marie Lu’s recent release and everyone loved it. And what happened? I hated it. So, the hype scares me A LOT.

  2. Tabitha (Not Yet Read) says:

    Omg yes yes yes, it’s exactly why I can’t read the classic Sci if books. I mean it would be cool to try but anytime I go too far back in years then you see that stuff just blame in your face and it destroys the reading experience for me no mTter how cool the story is.

    I’ve read quite a few of these on your list and it’s an excellent looking list. I Loved love loved the Fortunes Pawn, paradox trilogy and really enjoyed These Broken Stars as well as Earth Girl. I want to read The Mad Scientists Daughter hopefully this year. Stormdancer was great though I consider it steampunk fantasy not scifi.

    I really enjoyed AngelFall and want to read Red Rising and the Diana Peterfreund one as well and Ancillary Justice, heck the whole list is great!

    • Brigid says:

      Never ever read those book. They’re tedious and awful.

      I actually consider steampunk a sub-genre of science fiction because that’s how the genre started. A lot of people don’t realize just how old it is, as a sub genre of sci-fi. Steampunk to me isn’t fantasy or magic. It’s based on science and therefore I can’t seem to look at it as fantasy.

      I would really like to read Ancillary Justice. It sounds like a groundbreaking book in the genre.

  3. Molly Mortensen says:

    I used to really like science fiction and just occasionally read fantasy, but lately I’ve switched. I think there’s just so many fabulous fantasy books out now. Not all old scifi is like that. I really like Asimov, he wrote some really kick butt women back in the twenties. I love Firefly! I’m still not over it being cancelled.

    I have a love hate relationship with dystopians. Most of these are still on my not read list too. I actually own Stormdancer. haha yes Red Rising is good. Golden Son is really really good though! Yes the slang is a bit much, but it gets better, didn’t bother me at all in Golden. I didn’t think Darrow was a Mary Sue, but he was annoying. Much less so in Golden though. It’s still worth it for the world and the plot. (and minor characters)

    Ancillary Justice just sounds weird. I’m not sure on that one. Angelfall is great though! I love the banter between the main characters! Warning: I’ve read the first two books and I still don’t know why the angels. It’s not explained. I’m hoping for the finale. But it’s still good.

    • Brigid says:

      I’ve never read Asimov. I may have to check him out. I KNOWWW. SO SAD.

      I adore the crap out of love-hate relationships, but I’m not usually a fan of dystopians. I have trouble with them. But, these books I will definitely be reading.

      It does sound weird, doesn’t it? But, I’ve heard very feminist pro girl things that make me want to read it.

      Ohhhhhh…I hate when stuff isn’t explained logically. We’ll have to see what I think then.

Leave a Reply

