Review: Faefever by Karen Marie Moning

He calls me his Queen of the Night. I’d die for him. I’d kill for him, too.

When MacKayla Lane receives a page torn from her dead sister’s journal, she is stunned by Alina’s desperate words. And now MacKayla knows that her sister’s killer is close. But evil is closer. And suddenly the sidhe-seer is on the hunt: For answers. For revenge. And for an ancient book of dark magic so evil that it corrupts anyone who touches it.

Mac’s quest for the Sinsar Dubh takes her into the mean, shapeshifting streets of Dublin, with a suspicious cop on her tail. Forced into a dangerous triangle of alliance with V’lane, a lethal Fae prince, and Jericho Barrons, a man of deadly secrets, Mac is soon locked in a battle for her body, mind, and soul.


Prepare to scream so loud that the bitch is thrown right out of you. I am dead serious. That ending was agonizing the first time. But this time….I will smash this beer bottle on someone’s head. No. I will lay this book flat on the driveway, borrow my friend’s giant ass truck, and run over this damn book until there’s nothing left but Mac’s thoughts and Barrons’ brooding facial expressions flying through the air as I speed away. This book I both loved and hated. I love it because of the whoas, holy fucks, and the kicking and screaming emos stuck in side me. I hate it because of that FUCKING ending. Why did you have leave me high and dry Moning? I swear, that woman….bitch glare. FIST SHAKING IS HAPPENING RIGHT NOW.

Oh yes. It is three in the morning and it is Bitch Time. You do not make this university student stay up until three a.m. during the last week of finals to finish your wonderful fucking good book and end it like that. I am sleep deprived. I’ve been drinking Corona. And I am pissed off. You. Me. My friend’s truck. THIS BOOK. It is on.

But first about the book and then I will turn the Bitch switch on for real.

In this book Mac and Barrons are still on the road to finding the Dark Book. But when we last left off, Mac was clutching her head from being so close to it. That comes to fruition in this book. Boy is that book weird looking. I won’t spoil it for you: but just when you think it’s just this ordinary thing, it’s not. Something is happening to the city, it’s becoming more chaotic. Crimes are building up. The police are going nuts. There are more Unseelie on the streets. Guess who it’s all connected to? That’s right. The Lord Master. So, not a spoiler guys. I swear.

Miss Mac is pissed off that she’s the one that has to deal with it. She has to deal with the repercussions of O’Bannion’s brother and his little addiction. She has to deal with Rowena’s sudden bitch fight and her team of sidhe-seers. She has to deal with the dominant horror that is Jericho Barrons and his never-ending obsessions. So many things, really.

On top of that:

Something is coming. It’s deadly. It’s chaos. The walls are coming down. For Mac, for Barrons, for everyone in Dublin. Turn on that MacHalo and get that rifle because an apocalypse is coming.

I think you didn’t need to be a sidhe-seer to feel the taut, expectant hush in the air, to hear the distant drumming of dark hooves on a troubled wind, moving closer, closer.

Closer.

Yes. That is the author. And yes, that scene where Mac dances with her pink MacHalo and Barrons laughs his ass off is the best and most hilarious scene in this book.

The bitching is coming. I promise.

Since the previous book Ms. Lane is not as resistant to her “job.” She’s doesn’t care as much what people think of her.

My MacHalo was for deep night work only. If the people passing by tonight thought it was bizarre that I was carrying lit flashlights, I didn’t care. I was staying alive. They could smirk all they wanted.

She’s becoming smarter in her decisions, not always, but more often than not. She’s thinking more about situations before she jumps into them. She’s more careful about making deals with people. She even tricks Barrons into a deal. Score one for Mac. She’s more responsible in her actions. Mac has some great realizations in this book that make her grow the fuck up.

…in my heart, I didn’t really believe he was evil. Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t think he was good, either, but bad is potential evil. Evil is a lost cause. 

But still not enough to make me feel like she’s accepted what is and put her big girl panties on. The downfall is that she still has that annoying habit of constant ridiculous inner monologue. GO AWAY. I don’t need to hear about it anymore. Stop whining about the whether. It’s Ireland. Of course it rains.

Then, there’s that whole thing where she starts thinking about what Barrons is and then she decides it’s because he’s a bad person. You know. Just cause. She doesn’t need to have proof to back it up. She decided it and that is that. And then, she tries comparing some of his actions to rape. Okay. Look rape is bad. It’s really fucking bad. But that was not rape. And it had little to do with rape. It’s like comparing something with one similar detail to a huge issue that has little to with each other except for that one detail. That is stupid and uncool. Think logically, instead of getting all pissed off and saying something that makes no sense. I don’t like what Barrons did. I want to tie is dick into a knot. He was stupid. He made a mistake. I don’t think he should be forgiven easily (hence the dick knot), but it was one of those pissed off moments he frequently has.

The relationship between these two psychos has changed a lot. First they hated each, then they tolerated each other, and now they are really attracted to each other but are completely ignoring it.  There are jealous moments. Neither admits this. Throughout the entire novel, lies and truth becomes a contributing factor. They have these cute arguments:

“I didn’t call you Mac.”

“Yes, you did.”

“I called you Ms. Lane.”

“No, you didn’t.”

“Yes, I did.”

First Mac tells Barrons little but lies. But then she learns throughout the novel, and decides to confide in him. Okay good. Very good. This is good development. Just what I wanted. He starts to be more open with her, little things, but that’s something.

OH THE CAKE SCENE. WONDERFUL. He’s a jerk towards the end. But, as the reader it’s awesome because you get an insight on how Barrons truly views emotion.

He was still frowning at the cake, looking at it as if he expected it to sprout dozens of legs and begin scuttling toward him, thin-lipped, teeth bared. 

*baby voice* He doesn’t like feeling. He’s a big TALL monster. Runs away from all the feels.

BIG BARRONS CAVEMAN:

NO FEELING.

NO PINK CAKE MAC.

AGRESSIVE TALK.

DOMINANT DOOHICKIES.

DROOLS OVER MAC BOOBIES.

CAVEMAN BARRONS WEARS SEXY CLOTHES.

DO NOT SHOW FEELING FOR ME.

I WILL GLARE AT YOU MENACINGLY.

I AM HYPOCRITE. I DO REALLY SWEET THING FOR MAC.

And despite this: He is sexy. There is no reason or logic. He just is.

For those who haven’t read the book, it’s probably not a good idea for you to read this. Okay. Now that everything is clear. What the fuck was that ending. It was so painful to watch. I get why Mac wasn’t able to do anything. I can see other reader’s blaming her. But, really it’s not her fault that it happened. They were Gancanagh, or death by sex fae. These ones were much more determined than V’lane ever was with Mac. Bascially it was forced seduction. Which means that despite the fact that the Main Character doesn’t want to have sex or hasn’t said yes, they seduce her forcibly. It’s another version of rape. Frankly, that’s what this was. It’s sad. It’s terrible. But it’s not her fault. And I can’t see why other reader’s would even consider that it was her fault. Even though after she wasn’t able to resist them, she found pleasure, she didn’t want it.

It was sex that was life that was blood that was God that filled every empty orifice I had, inside and out. And it was killing me. And I knew it. And I had to have more.

If you’ve read folklore about these creatures, they are one of the most fucking scary creatures in those damn books. The idea that you have no choice is scary. The idea that you are seduced into something you don’t want is scary. The idea that once they are gone, you are in agonizing pain and death is the only way you can escape it is fucking scary. I never want to know what rape is like. I think this is the worst type of rape you can experience. Moning scared the shit out of me. But while a lot of author’s use rape as a device to make reader’s feel pain, I don’t think this was Moning’s attempt. I think she handled it well. She wasn’t too graphic. She described what was happening without being gratuitous about it. She made sure that it wasn’t just about the act, that there was deeper meaning and purpose to it.

I’m reading.

I’m scared.

My hands are shaking.

OMG. THOSE THINGS.

GLARES.

What’s going to happen?

Oh Mac. FUCK.

Footsteps. Footsteps. Holy…it’s……mother fucker.

NOOOOOOOOOO.

I’M GOING TO BITCHSLAP SOMEONE.

Oh…and Christian: I approve. But dude, what is with everyone wanting to know who Mac is sleeping with. Barrons wants to now. Christian wants to know. V’lane wants to know. It’s like a big fucking circle that never ends. Who she sleeps with or doesn’t sleep with is no one’s damn business. Period. No excuses. Get over it guys.

This book is like putting your hand in snow and keeping it there for a few minutes until it burns. You take it out and it’s got that nice pink color. It’s cold, numb, and on fire. You love it. But, you hate it. And then you sit by the fire pissed off and you leave satisfied with a warm body part.

Leave a Reply

