Review: Bloodfever by Karen Marie Moning


I used to be your average, everyday girl but all that changed one night in Dublin when I saw my first Fae, and got dragged into a world of deadly immortals and ancient secrets. . . .

In her fight to stay alive, MacKayla must find the Sinsar Dubh—a million-year-old book of the blackest magic imaginable, which holds the key to power over the worlds of both the Fae and Man. Pursued by assassins, surrounded by mysterious figures she knows she can’t trust, Mac finds herself torn between two deadly and powerful men: V’lane, the immortal Fae Prince, and Jericho Barrons, a man as irresistible as he is dangerous.

For centuries the shadowy realm of the Fae has coexisted with that of humans. Now the walls between the two are coming down, and Mac is the only thing that stands between them.



Moning is the mother of good pacing. Just when you think things can’t get any more intense. Or just when you think you can’t get any more feelings out, your heart starts to explode out of your chest. Then, you have to pick up all the pieces. AND THEN: you are left sitting in that room alone staring at the wall because you just don’t fucking understand WHAT THE FUCK HAPPENED.

It’s like that.

All you can do is bitch to get everything under control. By everything, I mean those little things they call emotions. That is what it’s called right? Right.

Mac grows significantly in this book, from start to finish. Since the beginning of book one she’s grown some already. She’s not as prone to jumping into the mix without thinking about the repercussions. She still does have those moments i.e. deciding to stay on the beach with V’lane and making a deal with him without realizing the full truth of what she’s getting into. She’s still adamant that her life won’t change once she and Barrons find the Dark Book. I kept shaking my head the entire time. There’s just no fucking way that’s going to happen. Not after learning what she is, not after becoming Barrons OOP detector, not after realizing there’s an entire community of people like her, and so many other things that could affect her life even once they find that book. It’s just not realistic to think on those terms. She can’t think life is going to be what it used to be, even if Alina is out the picture.

Mac’s growth in this novel:

  • Mac grows a pair and stands up to Barrons.
  • She’s actually actively learning about the Fae world.
  • She’s being more safe by always having a weapon nearby.
  • She’s listening to Barrons instead of throwing a hissy fit.

I set up my laptop and tried to answer e-mails from my friends, but I couldn’t relate to anything they’d written about. Parties and Jell-O shots, and who was sleeping with who, and he-said/she-said just didn’t comp tin my brain right now.

Mac is becoming more mature not only by her actions, but by her attitude. Towards the end of the novel she realizes her life will never be the same. That she’s going to fight for that book because of what she is, because her sister would have wanted it, and because it’s the right thing to do. But more than that, Mac doesn’t seem to making as many stupid mistakes as she did in book one.

Mac’s faults in this novel are mostly centered on her lingering immaturity.

  • She’s still jumping to conclusions about Barrons without looking at this actions.
  • She’s saying things without really thinking about the reality of the situations and why he keeps secrets.
  • She’s paying more attention to what he’s not doing and then coming to wild conclusions instead of looking at what he is doing and then looking at what those actions mean.

She’s twisting information. Look, I totally fucking hate how he makes decisions without consulting her first. I DO. It pisses me off. But, Mac’s actions aren’t any better. She’s comparing him to V’lane, who tries to rape her at every fucking turn. Basically, what Ryodan tells Mac is very true. I’m very interested to see the woman she becomes and I can’t wait until I get to the fifth novel.

There were so many damn cool things in this book. THE HUNTERS. So damn cool:

Great, dark, leathery wings flapped from a great dark leathery body, with a massive satyrlike head, cloven hooves, and a forked tail. Its tongue was long and bisected down the middle. It had long curved black horns with bloody tips. It was black, but it was more than black; it was the absolute, utter, and complete absence of light.

I….I….I….Scaaarrryyy. INTENSE. So damn intense when reading this scene. That thing is so interesting. I really really want to know more about these hunters.

The relationship between Barrons and Mac changes int his book. I’m not sure if it’s a good thing or a bad thing. Because, they were fighting when the thing at the end of the book happens. Those who’ve read will have no fucking idea what I’m talking about. All I have to say is: DAMN and SEXY.

I both hate and love how closed off Barrons is. It’s so intriguing when he gives you those tiny bits of emotion once in a while. I never thought I would feel so much. I was reading, and Mac was being tortured, and all hope was lost. But then: I started to have tears in my eyes. I don’t how. I don’t why. I am not a crier. I’m still not sure I’m admitting this. I’m lying they weren’t tears. Yes, they were. No, they weren’t. Yes. No. Yes. No. Okay, they were. Seriously, I’m a dry well. I do not cry while reading. But for real: there was wet stuff coming out of my eyes. So either I need to see the eye doctor or they were tears.

Had I, in some tiny way, come to matter to this enigmatic, hard, brilliant, obsessed man? I realized he’d come to matter to me. Good or evil, right or wrong, he mattered to me.

Plus: We get to see Barrons freak out in this book. He has feelings for Mac. Mac and Barrons sitting in a tree. Blah blah blah. Blah blah blah. I don’t know the rest of the words to this song.

The inner girl in me is going: WHEEEEE!!!

I was about to look away when he reached across the seat, touched my jaw with his long, strong, beautiful fingers, and caressed my face. Being touched by Jericho Barrons with kindness makes you feel like you must be the most special person in the world. It’s like waking up to the biggest, most savage lion in the jungle, lying down, placing your head in its mouth and, rather than taking your life, it licks you and purrs.

The adult in me is ashamed that I like this dude. But a book is a book and that is that.

*stares at you longingly*

The world intensified, the characters become more faceted and detailed, the creatures knocked me out of my chair, the pacing is to die for, and the relationships became the death of me. On to the next book.

Leave a Reply

