5 Star Review: Burn For Me by Ilona Andrews


#1 New York Times bestselling author Ilona Andrews launches a brand-new Hidden Legacy series, in which one woman must place her trust in a seductive, dangerous man who sets off an even more dangerous desire . . .
Nevada Baylor is faced with the most challenging case of her detective career—a suicide mission to bring in a suspect in a volatile situation. Nevada isn’t sure she has the chops. Her quarry is a Prime, the highest rank of magic user, who can set anyone and anything on fire.
Then she’s kidnapped by Connor “Mad” Rogan—a darkly tempting billionaire with equally devastating powers. Torn between wanting to run and wanting to surrender to their overwhelming attraction, Nevada must join forces with Rogan to stay alive.
Rogan’s after the same target, so he needs Nevada. But she’s getting under his skin, making him care about someone other than himself for a change. And, as Rogan has learned, love can be as perilous as death, especially in the magic world.


It’s going to be very hard not to run off, jump up and down, clap my hands, and act like a twelve year old in this review. I’m not a sparkly, I love pink, and my favorite thing to is squee type of girl. I am the roll her eyes, I will tell you what I think and you will sit your ass down and listen, hyped up on coffee, foul mouthed type of girl. I’m not a very serious person, but the fact that this book broke the inner rendition of that chick from Princess and the Frog, says a fucking lot.

To celebrate my crazy love for this book, Veronica Mars GIFS:

Ilona and Gordon are the gods of unique world building. They always come up with something weird, interesting, and different. Very very very different. The Kate Daniels world was different. It had this medieval/modern tech type world that baffled my mind when I first read it. Then they came up with the Edge books where there was a middle world between modern Atlanta and some a high fantasy medieval world full of magic. AGAIN WITH THE DIFFERENT. And now they came up with the world in Burn for me. A world where there are mages, people with different levels of magic, people who have names for their type of magic, people who are sorted into blue blood type families depending on their level of magic, and there are even magic houses. DIFFERENT. UNIQUE, COOL. All of the words.

The best thing about Gordon and Ilona’s books is the dialogue and characters. They create the coolest characters. They’re people either you want to jump in bed with or you want to go have drinks with. I love the heroine in this book. I loved the family aspect. Another thing fans will note is the importance of family. Her grandmother Frida is fucking badass. I love badass old ladies. They rock. Her mother is an expert with the sniper. She never misses a shot.

Nevada is so damn great:

Mad Rogan stood at my doorstep, holding a bouquet of carnations…
His eyes looked smug.
I looked at the flowers, looked at his face, and shut the door.
No, wait.
I opened the door, took the carnations from him, shut the door, and locked it.

Don’t blame the chick, I like flowers too. I think she’s awesome. She’s also nothing special in her world. No special snowflake here. She’s got the magic ability to tell whether people are lying or telling the truth. I would love to be able to do that. I think her ability also makes her very realistic about the world and how people think. Definitely a plus for a smart heroine.

Her history is not a happy one. Her dad died some years back and she’s taken over her family’s company. They run an investigative agency. They aren’t too big, mostly they just track people down. But her family’s company has a contract with a big guy, who has become her boss. Basically she has to take a very dangerous case that she doesn’t want to take because she could get herself and her family killed. The case centers on a rich spoiled boy who wants to burn the world: Adam Pierce. She has to find him and deliver him to House Pierce, his family. She’s not a happy camper.

Nevada is a realist. She and Rogan have eyes for each other. But she resists with an iron fist. She doesn’t even want to admit she’s attracted to him, at first. Then eventually, she admits that he’s one hot son of a bitch. Serioulsy, this guy is smoking. But the cool thing that Andrews does is they give a reason for why he’s so damn good looking. That’s a first. He’s a similar character type to Curran. He’s a psycho. He doesn’t like people. They annoy him. He’s very powerful. He protects those in his employment. But, as a character, he’s still a very different person. I would say he’s more dangerous than Curran. He’s definitely more psychotic. But damn he’s got a mouth on him. YESSSSS!

“What is that smell?”he said.
“It’s my jeans. A bag of food court trash broke when I climbed through the Dumpster.”
A minute passed. Another.
“So,” he said. “You come here often?”
“Rogan, please stop talking.”

Nevada doesn’t want to have a relationship with him, whether serious or just sexual because:

1. She doesn’t trust him.

2. She believes he would get bored too soon and she would be discarded like trash.

3. He’s dangerous, powerful, and a killer.

4. He’s a psycho.

5. He’s head of House Rogan, rich, and part of a socialite society.

If they were in a relationship, in whatever form, all eyes would be on her. Because she’s not a high level magic user, their potential relationship would be a scandal. She’s a professional woman, a realist, and smart. Thus, she doesn’t want to get into psycho-man’s pants.

It would be awesome. Just to see him naked, to see that honed, powerful body, to touch him, would be the highlight of my adult romantic life.
The other 50 percent of me would be livid. That jerk. No “Thanks for saving my life.” No “Are you okay?” No acknowledgement of a near-death experience. Oh no, no, he decided to critique my chalk drawing while I sat there on the pavement, bleeding and trying to catch my breath. I’d had it with all of them. I’d had it with their fires and their flying buses and exploding buildings. Had it.

I LOVE YOU NEVADA!!!

And I usually don’t go for the psycho crazy hunk, but man is Rogan sexy. He’s like a more psychopathic Curran. Oh baby. But you know what? Sometimes the Chemistry works and sometimes it doesn’t. But what I love about this novel is that they don’t jump into bed in the first book. They haven’t even started dating or having a real relationship. I feel a slow build coming. THE RIDE IS GOING TO BE AWESOME.

Ugh, yes! a smart chick in urban fantasy, let alone paranormal romance is like a white elephant.

Now there have been discussions, rants, and rages on whether this book is Paranormal Romance or Urban Fantasy. I will make this decision for you: IT’S A HYBRID. It is neither fully urban fantasy or fully paranormal romance. There’s no sex or a disgustingly sweet resolution. But on the other hand, it’s not a urban fantasy either because there’s a definite romance influenced sexy times, smoldering, and kisses abound that does not spell Urban Fantasy. There’s a definite increase in the sizzle department than in previous Andrews novels.

“But now I have something to prove to you,” he said.
“I promise you, I will win, and by the time I’m done, you won’t walk, you’ll run to jump into my bed.”
“Don’t hold your breath,” I told him.
All of his civilized veneer was gone now. The dragon faced me, teeth bared, claws out, breathing fire. “You won’t just sleep with me. You’ll be obsessed with me. You’ll beg me to touch you, and when that moment comes, we will revisit what happened here today.”

Remind you of someone? NUDGE NUDGE.

The plot was stellar, the world building was signature Andrews, and the dialogue had their usual fast and witty mark of excellence. I always turn into a big pile of mush whenever I read Ilona Andrews.

SIGH.

WHEEEEEEE!!!

OMG LOOKIE!

BOO-YA!

I’M DEAD FROM EXCITEMENT.

2 thoughts on “5 Star Review: Burn For Me by Ilona Andrews

  1. susana1979 says:

    Okay, your review actually makes me want to read the book…despite the fact that: OH MY GOD THIS GUY IS WORST THAN CURRAN!
    That part in which Curran tells Kate:” you’ll say thank you and please!”
    This guy could be his twin….is he Curran’s twin?
    oh my God two of them!
    ________
    Loved your review! 🙂

    • Brigid says:

      Yep. I got to that line and I had a serious flashback moment of that scene with Curran and Kate. THE SIZZLES. THE FEELINGS. I think they’re very different people, but with some similar qualities i.e. the crazy and the sexiness factor. Plus they both have that “like I fucking care what you think. You are so below me” thing going on. Rogan is at least 30 times more dangerous than Curran. He would actually kill somebody whether they deserved it or not. That’s just the type of crazy we’re dealing with here.

Leave a Reply

