Review: Tempest Rising by Nicole Peeler

Blurb from the Author’s website:

In the tiny village of Rockabill, Maine, Jane True—26-year-old bookstore clerk and secret night swimmer—has no idea that her absent mother’s legacy is entry into a world populated by the origins of human myths and legends. It is a world where nothing can be taken for granted: vampires are not quite what we think; dogs sometimes surprise us; and whatever you do, never—ever—rub the genie’s lamp. For Jane, everything kicks off when she comes across a murder victim during her nightly clandestine swim in the freezing winter ocean. This grisly discovery leads to the revelation of why she has such freakish abilities in the water: her mother was a Selkie and Jane is only half human. With this knowledge, Jane soon finds herself mingling with supernatural creatures alternately terrifying, beautiful, and deadly—all adjectives that quite handily describe her new friend Ryu. When Ryu is sent to Rockabill to investigate the murder, he and Jane fall hard for each other even as they plummet into a world of intrigue threatening to engulf both supernatural and human societies. For someone is killing half-humans like Jane. The question is, are the murders the work of one rogue individual or part of a greater plot to purge the world of Halflings?


Am I missing something? I repeat: AM I MISSING SOMETHING?

I’m enraged by how disappointed I am that I didn’t like this book. It has selkies. No, they’re not mermaids. I’m glad about that. Because good mermaid books? They don’t exist. At all. But alas, I still didn’t love this book. Why couldn’t I have loved it? damn it.

This book would have been magnificent had it not included cliches, a creepy love interest, an obvious villain, a ridiculous reason for why the heroine hadn’t moved on from a past relationship, and more obvious shenanigans.

The goodie bag of Jane: 

Me and Jane hit it off right away. I enjoyed her snark, her honesty, and her witty thoughts. She’s curvy, without giving us too much description (I appreciate that Peeler). She works in a book store (score!). Jane has two best friends who are lesbians (double score). I love it when the MC has female friendships. There aren’t enough of those. Usually in Urban Fantasy, the main character just sulks along the entire time dreading the fact that no women like her. Then when we actually come across women, they’re total assholes. I’m so sick of that trope. I’m glad Peeler does not do that to us. Jane’s also truthful about how attracted she is to the male counterpart of the human race. Woooo!!!

The OH NO’s of Jane:

The bad part about Jane is that more than a couple times she pushes us down a pity party. I’ll admit: I’m not a fan of pity parties. I feel bad, but sometimes I just want a good story. You know what I mean? I came into this book wanting a break from schoolwork. It’s not that she’s whiny. She’s not. Her pain is genuine and I get that. But, telling me over and over how she’s responsible for her boyfriend’s death doesn’t need to be slammed into me. Enough, you told me once. Please stop the moping. Stop flinging crap at me.

I feel like Jane should’ve moved on by the time Ryu came around. It just seemed a little too prolonged. It was kind of like the author just inserted this info as a fake backstory for the reason why Jane was so depressed. I’m sure she would be messed up already, what with her mother’s betrayal and the town constantly jumping on her back. But, it felt convenient.

The love interest who is not a sparkly vampire:

Jane, oh Jane, why did you have to like Ryu? He’s so…..blech. I’m not complaining about his looks or anything. I could care less about that. He’s gorgeous, as all guys in urban fantasy are. Think about it, have you ever come across a love interest in UF that isn’t stunning? Ryu and I just couldn’t get along. It was inevitable. Just chemistry, I guess. He’s good looking. Plays games of wit with heroine. He’s even nice. But he’s creepy. I’ll come out and say it: He creeped me out. The entire time reading this book, i thought he would do something nasty or weird. I thought he’d end up being a pedo or something.

I’m not going to go into detail about Ryu. But let me just say: some times you like the guy and sometimes you don’t.

“I like my women like I like my steak–nice and rare. So try not to flambé yourself this weekend.”

Sometimes you find them gaspingly,

his giggle sounded like a Pomeranian choking.

horridly,

He had to gather power from feeding off humans…which meant that sex couldn’t just be sex, could it?

agonizingly,

You’re almost too cute to fuck, Jane. But that just makes me want to fuck you even more.

creepy.

Sometimes there isn’t a reason. Although…he did constantly want to have sex with her after discovering something violent or gross i.e. the dead ears discovery.

MUAHAHAhaha! the villain:

All too often the moment things start to pick up and said investigator go to figure out the problem, they come across at least one or two characters that look sinister. All too often one of those characters turns out to be the bad guy. Even worse, you’re usually able to determine the guy/gal who is the villain. But of course not! It can’t be he stalker-like guy staring longingly at the main character.

But Oh Dear, It Didn’t Work Out: 

Sigh…yet with all the things I did like about Jane, I still did not like this book. My friend Erica loved this book to pieces. So, naturally I wanted to read it. Because, people that woman has exquisite taste in books.

I may try out the second book. I really like Jane. I also really loved her friend Anyan. He’s a Barghest, which Wikipedia tells me is “a legendary monstrous black dog with huge teeth and claws.” I might read the third as well, since I’ve already purchased both follow ups. Not while I was reading this book, of course. I’m not that crazy. Heh.

Leave a Reply

