Blue Notes by Carrie Lofty Review

1 Star Review: DNF at page 200

Image

Summary:

Keeley Chambers wants to be memorable. She longs for a future where she gets to play piano professionally. She’s trying to pursue her career at a University in New Orleans, where she’s been tasked to help the beautiful, talented, and rich Adelaide. But Keeley becomes tied with the local rich douchebag, Jude. Their first encounter doesn’t go well, not even a little bit. He insults her looks at every turn, to almost no actual reason that I can discern. To make things even worse, Keeley starts to have all the fuzzy feelings for the jerk. But on top of it all: she suspects he’s Adelaide’s boyfriend. Keeley’s best friend Janissa became the only person in this nauseating book I liked. She’s the single most rational person in this book, so at least there’s that. I wish she had been the Main Character. It’s a shame, really.

Why did I dislike Keeley?

At the start of the book, I thought I would enjoy her character. I thought a book about a piano prodigy would be really fun and interesting to read about. But I found it hard to like or even respect a character that starts to have feelings for a guy that does nothing but insult her:

“you clench your teeth when you get angry,” he adds casually. “It ruins the line of your lips.”
Does he unnerve everyone like this?…
“So when you said I wasn’t much to look at_”
“I meant you gave me a lot to work with. Your lips being the best of it”

Image

1. I found it a fucking struggle to like her for her irrationality and inconsistency:

I don’t think I hate Jude. He turned out to be just what I’d been so wary of, and just what Janissa warned against.

She would tell him off and then she would completely fall under his spell. Look that doesn’t quite work that way in real life okay? When someone is a complete asshole, you don’t just start to have feelings for them because they’re generous once in a blue moon. I don’t think I could ever respect someone like Keeley. Her actions are deplorable.

2. She assumes everything before she knows the facts:

You should’ve seen him with Adelaide. It’s like they spoke a special code language of snark and subtext. They’re totally an item. If not now, then in the way exes can be when they’re not done with each other.”

I really REALLY hate it when the characters in a novel assume something so ridiculous before even knowing that persons actions. I’m not trying to excuse Jude’s actions because being an arrogant jerk doesn’t make me like him at all. No, I don’t like a character that judges someone before they really should, no matter how much of an asshole that person is. But Keeley presumes Adelaide and Jude are a couple based on how they talk? No, I don’t except that. It’s flimsy and has no fucking basis.

3. She slut shames random people at concerts:

The woman, wearing a camisole with a shelf bra that does little to conceal bi boobs and perky nipples, is practically sitting in her date’s lap. He’s a total jock type, solid and tan. Why they’re sitting in the front row baffles me. They don’t fit with my idea of music aficionados. She slings her legs over the guy’s lap and wraps her forearms around his neck.
I’m equal parts annoyed and envious.

Image

Whereas we have Keeley’s best friend:

She’s sweet, a year younger than me, short, with a ton of grace and a great figure. Like, D-cup hourglass great. Maybe guys don’t swarm her because, pajama pants aside, she usually wears sweats and old T-shirts…

The author splits the portrayals of women by who wears what, instead of portraying them based on their personality and actions. It’s more of the way the author decided to portray other women that bothers me rather than the character’s thoughts about this couple. The author, unfortunately decided the best way to capture her readers was to portray most women in the books as mean sluts. Women who decide to show cleavage aren’t sluts. This is a problem that needs to be fixed, but I doubt it’ll happen anytime soon.

4. Her repetitive loathing self-hatred becomes the most annoying thing in this damn book:

Image

So wrong on so many levels, I don’t know where to start. So I don’t.
But she’s sweet to say I’m put together. That much is deeply ingrained. Always look pretty, Mom used to say.

If it had only been a couple times, I would’ve been fine with it. Howver, she mentioned her looks so many times that it became annoying. I prefer not be constantly reminded of something when the character’s already mentioned it. I don’t want to know how the characters waistline is scrawnier than her best friend’s, when really she’s probably just fit. I don’t want to know how small her boobs are, and I definitely don’t want to be thrown crap like this:

“You’re graceful. You’re natural and unpretentious. You’re tall-I really like that. You have poise and this air of living in some other world. It sets you apart. And unlike most guys and all the stereotypes we’re working against here, I happen to adore small breasts.”

Image

I personally don’t like certain parts of my body, but that doesn’t mean I’m repeated it in my head over and over. But I don’t want to focus on the character’s looks while I’m trying to enjoy a book.

Ironically, I did actually enjoy the writing of the book. It’s nicely fast paced and if you can get around the annoying habits of the characters, then you might actually enjoy this book. Unfortunately, I didn’t enjoy the main character. More often than not if I don’t even slightly like the main character, than I’ll usually end up hating the book. This is one of those cases.

Leave a Reply

